For today’s review, I am excited to be talking about a new band, Revolution Saints, and their self-titled debut album. Well, when I say new band, its members are hardly inexperienced musicians. Lead singer is Deen Castronovo, Journey drummer. Doug Aldrich (Whitesnake and Dio) is the guitarist. Jack Blades, bassist of Night Ranger, completes the trio.

The first thing that struck me when I listened to Revolution Saints was: “Why has Deen Castronovo never been a lead singer before?” Serafino Perugino, head of Frontier Records, must have been asking himself the same question, but it took him a long time to persuade Castronovo. It is a very good thing he succeeded. The impressive voice of Revolution Saints frontman, at times reminiscent of Steve Perry’s, is pure rawness with lots of nuances. It blends incredibly well with Jack Blades’ on the duet Turn Back Time. The album channels 80’s rock vibes and Doug Aldrich, known for a heavier guitar sound, demonstrates his talent throughout by delivering melodic riffs while retaining his own style.
Revolution Saints Album Review Self-titled album
These guys have known each other for years and a feeling of unity comes across. We own the Deluxe Edition of the album, which includes a DVD with the making of and the music videos. When listening to the various tracks I detected a definite sense of fun; this was confirmed when I watched the making of. There was great enthusiasm about this new collaboration, but also a lot of respect for each other’s skills.

Back On My Trail is the ideal opener, energetic and catchy, with a fabulous guitar solo. Another example of classic melodic rock is Locked Out Of Paradise. The whole album is such a fantastic mix of rock songs and ballads that I am having a hard time choosing a favourite. When pushed, I would go for You’re Not Alone (I love both Arnel Pineda and Deen Castronovo’s versions). I can listen to it in a loop and also find it helps with the inspiration while I am writing. 🙂
Revolution Saints Music Review Doug Aldrich Deen Castronovo Jack Blades
Alessandro Del Vecchio is the man behind this project, as composer of the majority of the songs and producer. His keyboard playing is the perfect addition to Doug Aldrich’s heavy riffs .

I have to credit Sexy Hubby, the “musical radar” in our home, for making me discover Revolution Saints. I am really glad he did, as Revolution Saints instantly became one of my current favourite albums. I have read about the band discussing playing live; between the three of them, there is certainly enough material they can tap into on top of the album twelve tracks. I very much hope to catch the band on tour when this happens.
PS: This week is “music week” on my blog. I will add links at the bottom of each post leading to the previous reviews.
Monday: Blackberry Smoke – Holding All The Roses
Tuesday: Black Star Riders – The Killer Instinct
Wednesday: Europe – War Of Kings

Deen Castronovo – Vocals/Drums
Doug Aldrich – Guitar
Jack Blades – Bass

1. Back On My Trail
2. Turn Back Time
3. You’re Not Alone (featuring Arnel Pineda)
4. Locked Out Of Paradise
5. Way To The Sun (featuring Neal Schon)
6. Dream On
7. Don’t Walk Away
8. Here Forever
9. Strangers To This Life
10. Better World
11. How To Mend A Broken Heart
12. In The Name Of The Father

13. You’re Not Alone (Arnel Pineda version)
14. Way To The Sun (Doug Aldrich version)
15. You’re Not Alone (Deen Castronovo version)

2 thoughts on “Music Review |
Revolution Saints |
Revolution Saints

    1. Thank you. 🙂
      I was going to do a “global” music post, then decided that all these albums are so good they deserved their own article. One more coming up tomorrow.
      Let me know your thoughts about Lorenz… 😉 xx

Comments are closed.